Premier League Darts 2019: Night 10

2018 world champion Rob Cross and reigning champ Michael van Gerwen seen in action on the Ally Pally oche

Shane McArdle looks forward to Thursday’s Premier League Darts in Belfast

The 2019 Premier League Darts

Night 10 – Thursday April 04, The SSE Arena, Belfast –

The 2019 Premier League season began on Thursday Feb 07th, with 17 nights of top-class action running from February to May. The season includes Judgement night after nine weeks of action, where the bottom two players in the league table will be eliminated and it all comes to a fascinating climax from The O2 in London on Thursday May 23rd.

The players taking part in this year’s Premier League are Michael van Gerwen, Michael Smith, Peter Wright, Rob Cross, James Wade, Raymond van Barneveld, Gerwyn Price, Daryl Gurney and Mensur Suljovic. Gary Anderson has unfortunately withdrawn from the Premier League as he continues to struggle with a back injury.

The PDC decided that nine different players would replace Gary Anderson at each of the nine different venues on each of the first nine weeks of action.

The replacements are as follows – Chris Dobey (Newcastle, Week 1) – Glen Durrant (Glasgow, Week 2) – Steve Lennon (Dublin, Week 3) – Luke Humphries (Exeter, Week 4) – John Henderson (Aberdeen, Week 5) – Nathan Aspinall (Nottingham, Week 6) – Max Hopp (Berlin, Week 7) – Dimitri van den Bergh (Rotterdam Ahoy, Week 8, Night 1) – Jeffrey de Zwaan (Rotterdam Ahoy, Week 8, Night 2)


Following the double header in Rotterdam last week, Raymond van Barneveld has been eliminated from what was his final Premier League before he retires at the end of the year.

Check out the latest Premier League Darts betting here

Night Nine results (Rotterdam):

Daryl Gurney 7-3 Mensur Suljovic

Gerwyn Price 7-5 Peter Wright

Rob Cross 7-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Michael van Gerwen 7-1 Raymond van Barneveld

James Wade 7-4 Michael Smith

Thursday April 04th (The format is now slightly longer at Best of 14 legs)

(7:15pm) Mensur Suljovic v James Wade

Prediction – James Wade at 23/20

It’s fifth against third as Mensur Suljovic finds himself one point behind his opponent after losing 7-3 to Daryl Gurney on Judgement night in Rotterdam. James Wade was a 7-4 winner over Michael Smith. Plenty of clinical high finishes can be expected from these two and it’s the more consistent form of James Wade that swings the decision for me in this match.

(8pm) Michael Smith v Peter Wright

Prediction – Michael Smith at 13/10

It’s seventh versus eight with both players needing a big result to make some ground up on the rest of the pack. They both suffered disappointing losses on Judgement night to Gerwyn Price and James Wade respectively and this will be a tough match for both players under the circumstances. I’m expecting a back in form Michael Smith to show up in Belfast and get the much needed win in this exciting contest.

(8:40pm) Rob Cross v Daryl Gurney

Prediction – Rob Cross at 10/11

Second versus third following impressive wins from both players last time out in Rotterdam. Daryl Gurney appears in front of his home crowd on the back of a fantastic 7-3 win over Mensur Suljovic, whilst Rob Cross came from behind to win 7-4 over wild card Jeffrey de Zwaan. Daryl Gurney will be pumped as he will have the backing of a packed SSE Arena but the current form of Rob Cross earns him a confident vote for the win from me.

(9:20pm) Michael van Gerwen v Gerwyn Price

Prediction – Michael van Gerwen at 3/10

It’s top versus sixth with both players leaving Judgment night in Rotterdam with important victories. MVG handed out a 7-1 hammering to Barney in front of their home crowd last week in Holland. Gerwyn Price was an impressive winner over Peter Wright. After some surprising defeats lately, the World No.1 Michael van Gerwen won both games last week and with confidence restored he should be too good for Peter Wright in this final game in Belfast.

Check out the latest Premier League darts betting here

Thursday Aril 11th Fixtures:

Daryl Gurney v Mensur Suljovic

Peter Wright v Gerwyn Price

Rob Cross v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Raymond van Barneveld v Michael van Gerwen

James Wade v Michael Smith

Please gamble responsibly, for more information click here
*Odds were correct at time of publishing the article