Updated 2019 BDO World Darts Championship

BDO World Darts Championship Preview

2019 BDO World Darts Championship
Preview by Shane McArdle

The 2019 Lakeside World Darts Championship takes place from Saturday Jan 05 to Sunday Jan 13 at the Lakeside Country Club in Frimley Green, Surrey.

The action will be live on Eurosport and Quest.

Click here for the latest darts betting

Men’s BDO World Championship:
It’s the 42nd running of the tournament, with Glen Durrant the defending champion following his defeat of Mark McGeeney in the 2018 final. He also won the 2017 world championship and is bidding for a third successive world title in this year’s tournament.

The men’s tournament carries a first prize of £100,000.
This year will be the first-time that three-time champion “Wolfie” Martin Adams will be absent from the tournament since his first appearance back in 1994.

The men’s tournament will see 40 players taking part.

Ladies BDO World Championship:
Lisa Ashton, like Glenn Durrant was the two-time defending champion and was also bidding for her third successive World title. She beat Anastasia Dobromyslova by 3 sets to 1 in last year’s final. She was however comprehensively beaten 2-0 in her first-round match against Japan’s Mikuru Suzuki and was the shock exit in round one of this year’s tournament. This potentially leaves the door open for the likes of Anastasia Dobromyslova and Fallon Sherrock to lift the title as they can’t meet until the final.

Click here for the latest darts betting

The Ladies tournament carries a first prize of £12,000.

Friday Matches/Selections

1:15pm – Michael Unterbuchner v Willem Mandigers – Michael Unterbuchner

3:30pm – Conan Whitehead v Scott Waites – Conan Whitehead

8:15pm – Kyle McKinstry v Glen Durrant – Glen Durrant

10pm – Jim Williams v Scott Mitchell – Jim Williams

Friday Matches/Selections

3pm – Maria O’Brien v Mikuru Suzuki – Mikuru Suzuki

7:15pm – Lorraine Winstanley v Anastasia Dobromyslova – Anastasia Dobromyslova

Outright Selections:
Win – Michael Unterbuchner

Win – Anastasia Dobromyslova

Please gamble responsibly, for more information click here
*Odds were correct at time of publishing the article